News Flash


Posted on: June 3, 2019

Local area task force recieves 2019 Minnesota Narcotics Task Force of the Year

Cannon River Drug and Violent Offender Task Force

On May 23, 2019, the Cannon River Drug & Violent Offender Task Force (CRDVOTF) was recognized as Minnesota’s 2019 Task Force of the Year. The award was presented at the Minnesota State Association of Narcotics Investigators (MSANI) annual conference in Nisswa, Minnesota.

The Chief Law Enforcement Officer’s and Task Force board members in Rice and Le Sueur counties nominated the team members for their outstanding contributions to narcotics enforcement over the past year. During the presentation on May 23, the Minnesota Department of Public Safety’s Statewide Gang and Drug Coordinator Brian Marquart read the nomination letter to a group of approximately 350 attendees. The nomination highlighted many of the statistics the team had over the past year, and also mentioned areas where agents went above and beyond their normal duties. The team was then presented a plaque from MSANI. Several chief law enforcement officers from Rice and Le Sueur Counties were in attendance.

CRDVOTF members whom were recognized included Agent Josh Malecha, Agent Scott O’Brien, Agent Jeff Burbank, Agent Jesse Cordova, Records Specialist/Secretary Carole Friesz, and task force commanders Captain David Dillon and Sergeant Paul LaRoche.

Sheriff Troy Dunn commented, “This award is well deserved. This unit continues to exceed our expectations. Their hard work and willingness to keep working to find bigger sources has resulted in record breaking seizures and arrests. The citizens of Rice and LeSueur County are safer due to the great work that’s being done by our Task Force.”

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Police