A passport is a document, issued by the U.S. government, which certifies the identity and nationality of its holder. To receive a passport, applicants must appear in person. Passports may be obtained through Rice or Dakota County.

Rice County

Rice County provides passport services at the Rice County Satellite Office located at Northfield City Hall, second floor, 801 Washington Street. Photos are available at this location for $15.00.

Passport services are provided on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month during the following hours:

  • 7 to 8 a.m. by appointment only. To schedule an appointment, call the Recorder's Office at 507-332-6114 or 507-645-9576 during regular business hours.
  • 8 to 10:30 a.m. No appointment necessary.

The Rice Recorder's Office in Faribault is also available for passport processing Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., at the Government Services Building, 320 N.W. Third Street, Faribault.

Rice County passport information

Dakota County

Dakota County provides passport services at five service centers located in:

  • Hastings
  • Lakeville
  • West St. Paul
  • Apple Valley
  • Burnsville

Dakota County passports

Additional information

Application forms, fees, processing times and updated information on applying for a Passport and Passport Card are also available on the U.S. Department of State website